Late night snacking

I have been in a habit the last few years of eating a snack before bed every night.  This is my “treat” at the end of the day that I always look forward to.  I am pretty sure it is related to my emotional eating issues by thinking a deserve it after a long hard day. 

One of the first objectives in phase one of The Best Life Diet is to not eat anything within 2 hours of going to bed.  He acknowledges that a calorie is a calorie no matter what time of day it is eaten.  This is supposed to make you want to eat breakfast first thing in the morning to get your metabolism running right away.  Makes sense to me.  Last night, once I finished dinner at 6:30 I didn’t eat anything else. 

The problem?  I was extremely hungry when I got up.  I have a ton of things to do in my weekday morning routine:  Workout, shower and get myself ready for work, make sure the kiddos are up and dressed, get the girl’s breakfast, pack lunches for myself and the little one, unload the dishwasher if necessary, put a load of laundry in, and make sure all the bags are packed for the day.  Only after all this is finished do I allow myself to eat breakfast at home.  If I run out of time, I take my breakfast to-go. 

I usually don’t eat anything before my morning workouts since I basically crawl out of bed, put on my shoes and go outside.  If I decide to cut out late night snacking this will have to change.  I really don’t want to eat much right before I work out.  Maybe just half of a banana will be enough. 

Morning exercisers, what do you do?  Do you eat breakfast before your workouts?  What do you eat?

One Response to “Late night snacking”

  1. Lady Rose Says:

    That last snack of the day can be a touch habit to break. I found what helped that if I truly was hungry and had have something – I would have an Extend protein bar. I use these for breakfast and lunch too (along with a piece of fruit). They are made to stabilize blood sugar – so they don’t cause that hunger problem in the morning. They are best bars I’ve found and easy to order from on line.
    Lady Rose

Leave a Reply

