Emotional Eating

I have just started reading The Best Life by Bob Green.  I have only had time to read a few pages a night, so I am still reading the introduction.  However he talks about emotional eating in the introduction and a light bulb finally went off in my head. 

I never considered myself an emotional eater.  I am not a very emotional person and I never thought stress really affected me much.  However yesterday it finally came together for me.  I was extremely stressed out at work.  I have deadlines coming up at the end of the month and I am just getting further and further behind.    While sitting at my desk the following is going through my head:

Why is there no chocolate in my area of the office?
Is there any cookie dough in the fridge in the break room?
Maybe I should just get a Coke from the pop machine in back.
Do we have any dessert in the house for tonight?

My entire afternoon and evening is totally obsessed with these thoughts.   

According to the book, you are not going to lose weight until you figure out what is making you run to the refrigerator.  Take time to think about YOU.  When life gets busy we end up operating on auto-pilot and we don’t think about what we truly need in life.  We don’t think about our choices and challenges and end up taking the easy route.  Ask yourself these questions:

Why are you overweight? Don’t accept excuses (“I don’t have time” “I sit at a desk all day”) when you answer this question.  I personally have a million excuses why I am overweight so this question will be tough. 

Why do you want to lose weight. Try not to give appearance reasons (“I want to look good”).

Why have you not been able to maintain weight loss in the past?

I am going to give myself some time in the next few days to really search for answers.  I will post them here when I do.

How about you?  Answer the questions here or leave a link to your blog.  I think it is very motivating to hear others stories. 

One Response to “Emotional Eating”

  1. Late night snacking « Cutting Back Says:

    […] at the end of the day that I always look forward to.  I am pretty sure it is related to my emotional eating issues by thinking a deserve it after a long hard […]

Leave a Reply

