My favorite salad

Yes I am still alive – I just have been too busy at work to blog 🙂

Grape tomatoes are on sale at my local store this week so I picked up a container to make my favorite salad.

No real recipe here – I just throw everything in a bowl and mix.

Base ingredients I always add:
Grape tomatoes (halved if you prefer)
Cucumber – sliced and cut in fourths
Canned garbanzo beans – drained and rinsed
Feta cheese – I love the peppercorn flavored feta
Black olives – sliced or left whole
Bottled Greek vinaigrette dressing (or Italian – whatever I have on hand)

Other ingredients I occasionally add
Whole wheat pasta
celery
red/green bell peppers
Mix all together and let sit for at least an hour.  YUM!

I really love Mediterranean flavors – fresh tomatoes, olives, feta.  I think I could be really successful doing the Mediterranean Diet if I liked to eat seafood. 

2 Responses to “My favorite salad”

  1. JennDZ - The Leftover Queen Says:

    Hi Julie!!!

    Sounds like my kind of salad!

    I think you should try the mediterranean diet! You don’t have to like fish – lean meats are fine as well! I just wrote about it on my blog this week! I love the mediterranean diet, it is wonderful and is not even a diet at all!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  2. Julie Says:

    That is why I love your blog – all your recipes look so good!

Leave a Reply

