What to do with all that leftover Easter candy

Our house is currently FULL of candy from easter egg hunts and other relatives.  The actual easter bunny did not leave any candy in the girl’s baskets except jelly beans in the eggs he hid around the house.  I am actually a little annoyed by the amount of candy in our house since I have no self control when it comes to this crap.  I can keep it up so the girls can’t get into it, but nothing keeps me out.

The frugal person in me hates to just throw it away.  If I bring it to work – I will just eat it there instead of at home.    

Here are a few ideas I have:

Use the jelly beans for “potty candy” bribes.  I think my youngest is on the verge of being ready. 

Save the candy to put in May Day baskets.  I usually ignore this holiday because I think it is stupid… however I usually feel a little guilty when my girls bring home several baskets and didn’t have any to give back to the other kids.  Maybe if I have the candy already on hand, I will actually do go through with it.

Anyone else?  What do you do with all the candy?

3 Responses to “What to do with all that leftover Easter candy”

  1. Donna Says:

    Okay, I’ve heard of May Day but never May Day Baskets. Is this a new thing or a tradition from a different local region than where I am. Can you also reuse Easter Baskets?

  2. cuttingback Says:

    Hi Donna – It is related to May Day – The kids are supposed to leave little baskets (picture a cup filled with candy and other goodies) on their friend’s doorstep, ring the doorbell and run. Some kids bring them to daycare and hand them out.

    Again, it is a stupid tradition. I am from the midwest – maybe they just do it here?

  3. Stacie Says:

    I take my leftover Easter candy and put it in the freezer. That way, I don’t feel like I have to eat everything all at once. And, it’s great to treat yourself later in the year. Guess it saves money too, if you buy after-the-holiday candy….As for May Day, I’ve heard of it celebrated as a woman’s holiday–girls get together and celebrate famous women???

Leave a comment