Big purchase – new washing machine.

My hubby and I plan on purchasing a new washing maching next weekend. Our current one is around 10 years old and recently it has started sounding like a jet plane is taking off in our basement. You can hear it all the way through the house and outside. It also leaks a little bit of water each cycle. When it started doing this I decided I was going to wait until it died completely before replacing it, but I really can’t stand it much longer.  

Originally I did not want to spend over $500 on a new appliance. Our current washer was a cheaper model and it lasted 10 years. However, now I am reconsidering:

  • We now have 4 members of our family = more laundry. Since we have two girls, I can only imagine that the laundry load will continue to grow. My oldest, who is only 3, already will change clothes several times a day “just because”.
  •  I have been working the last few months on saving money on our utility bills. We insulated our home in December to cut down on the winter gas bills. We only buy CF light bulbs. Buying a energy star washing machine fits into this goal. Sometimes you have to spend a little money to save money in the long run.

However:

  • I do not phisically have the money right now for a front loader washer.
  • I have $550 saved for a new washer plus we will be getting around $2000 from our tax return (when I get around to finishing them…). I will have the money shortly, but this conflicts with my “NO DEBT” resulution. However, if I put it on my credit card, by the time the bill comes due I will have the money. The laundry detergent that is required these appliances is more expensive than traditional laundry detergent. I believe you use less of it and with the water & electric effiency you will still come out ahead.
  • My other hold back, is that this is going to require additional research. We got a copy of consumer reports from a friend. Once we find out what model\brand we are interested in, we will have to figure out where we can get the best deal. I hate shopping around. I know it is in my best interest, but it is just so boring – I can find a much more interesting use of my time.

Basically – I just want someone to make this decision for me. In the past, I have just let my husband deal with the big purchases like our car and when we replaced our dryer. It is not that I don’t want to be involved with the decision, I just have a hard time parting with my money in big chunks. It makes me feel sick in my stomach just thinking about it.

Leave a Reply

