Black Bean Soup

I am going to post a recipe a week that is both healthy and economical.  This one is also very quick. 

I got this recipe from the back of a Bush’s Black Beans  can. 

Black Bean Soup

2 cans Bush’s Black Beans in seasoned sauce
1 can (16 oz) Chicken Broth (or the equivalent of water and chicken bullion or homemade).
1/2 cup salsa
1 tablespoon chili powder

Mash one can of beans with food processor or potato masher (I just used a fork).  Pour both cans of beans and remaining ingredients in a medium saucepan.  Bring to a boil. 

Additional toppings (optional):
Shredded Cheese
Sour Cream
Chopped Onion
Cilantro
Crushed up corn chips
Black Bean Soup Nutrition
To be honest, I didn’t expect to like this.  A soup made only of beans doesn’t really appeal to me.  However, with my first bite, I was in love!  It had great flavor.  The soup also froze very well – I put the leftovers in individual lunch portions in the freezer. 

Of course, the recipe could be made even more economical by using dried black beans and probably a little extra seasoning. 

Leave a Reply

