Step #2 Set Long Term and Daily Goals

Cris at The Life Ledger is currently writing a series on 10 steps to jump start your fitness . This sounds like just what I need, so I am going to follow along.

Step #2 Set Long Term and Daily Goals

Set goal weight
My goal weight is 150 which would put my BMI around 21.5. Normal BMI is between 18.5 and 24.9 so this is about mid-range.
Starting weight is 188 – Goal Weight 150 = 38 lbs. I want to lose this weight by the end of the year which equals out to about 3.8 lbs per month. This should definately be attainable. Slow and steady is the way to go.

My main size goal is a size 8 – single digits! My weight goal may change depending on what size I actually am at 150. If I hit a size 8 at 155 (which I highly doubt) – that will be my goal. If it takes me getting into the 140s (which is probably more realistic unless I hit the weights hard) then I will work towards that. The size means more to me than the number on the scale.

Set Daily Goals

I have a lot of daily goals in my head that I can use to loose weight. However I don’t want to overwealm myself with too many changes at once that I will just focus on two. Hopefully I will be able to change\upgrade these goals often as time goes on.

1. Drink 8-10 glasses of water a day. I believe this is the #1 thing you should change when you are trying to lose weight. Water does so much for your body. I used to be really good about drinking water daily, but I tend to slack off a bit when the weather gets colder. Since spring is almost here, I need to start drinking water regularly again. Right now I am sitting at my desk with a big 32 oz glass. I want to be able to finish two of these while at work each day. If I can do that – the rest will be easy.

2. Do some sort of exercise at least 30 minutes a day. This can include cardio, strength or flexibility. Since the weather is warming up, this should not be a problem since the cold is no longer an excuse.

Set Dream Goals

1. I would like to run one 5k this year. I have never been a runner – I have always used my asthma as an excuse to not even try it. However, this is not a valid excuse – I need to strengthen my lungs to be able to do this. There is a 5K in my town this summer that is actually on my birthday. July may be a little soon for this goal, but it is stil something I can work towards.

I actually had a hard time coming up with another concrete goal. I have a lot of goals that are not concrete – I want to be healthy for my family, be a good example to my girls, be a sexy wife…I will keep thinking and post another dream goal when I come up with one.

Use Constant Reminders.
I have a cute little football t-shirt that I would love to wear tailgating next fall. I have never been able to wear it. The size on the tag states XL, but it is more like a Med realisticly. Not sure it if was labeled wrong, or if the brand just runs that small. I will put this shirt at the front of my closet to look at each day.

I also went to the Success Begins Today site cris spoke about and downloaded the Dieteer. I changed a few of the goal and tracking cards to match what I am currently doing. I also changed a few of the sayings in the Diet Motivator cards to be more meaningful to myself. Here are a few of my favorites:

    Do not exchange what you want most for what you want at the moment.
    See it, Want it, Be it.
    Exercise today, results tomorrow.

Cris if you are reading this I am looking forward to step #3!

2 Responses to “Step #2 Set Long Term and Daily Goals”

  1. Karen is Thrifty Says:

    Wow. You are gutsy telling your weight to all of us. I need to lose some weight too. I don’t lose weight easily, so I’m trying to decide if I should join Weight Watcher or the Y.

  2. Daily Goals 3/22/07 « Cutting Back Says:

    […] Goals 3/22/07 I am going to start posting my results of my daily goals to keep myself […]

Leave a Reply

