Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins

I have had a can of pumpkin sitting in my pantry since before Thanksgiving.  I generally don’t make things with pumpkin (if I am going to bake, I want chocolate) so I decided to make myself use it.  I found a recipe at allrecipes.com that I thought I would try out. 

I made a few adjustments to the original recipe to make it a little healthier.  I subbed half of the flour with whole wheat flour and applesauce for the oil.  I also used less sugar and made them a little smaller for more servings. 

Pumpkin Apple Streusel Muffins 
24 Muffins

1 1/4 cups whole Wheat flour
1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
2 cups peeled, cored and chopped apple
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
4 teaspoons butter

DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease 24 muffin cups or use paper liners.
2. In a large bowl, sift together 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 2 cups sugar, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and salt. In a separate bowl, mix together eggs, pumpkin and oil. Add pumpkin mixture to flour mixture; stirring just to moisten. Fold in apples. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups.
3. In a small bowl, mix together 2 tablespoons flour, 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle topping evenly over muffin batter.
4. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into a muffin comes out clean.
Muffin Nutrition Info
I definately will make them again – I may even go without the struesel topping to shave a few more calories.  I wish the fiber content was a little larger, but maybe I can increase the amount of whole wheat flour I used. They also froze very well – I would just grab a few out of the freezer and zap it in the microwave for a few seconds.  They were very kid friendly – My 18 month old would eat two of them each day I brought them out of the freezer.

Leave a Reply

