Oatmeal

Oatmeal is a frugal dieter’s best friend. I am not talking about that prepackaged-flavored-full of sugar crap. I am talking about the real thing in the circular container. It is super cheap – a serving of oatmeal will cost you pennies. Plus it is full of fiber to keep you full all morning. According to Health.com the soluable fiber in oatmeal can block your body from absorbing fat, helping you get trim.

I eat oatmeal almost every weekday morning. I put a single serving amount in a plastic container and cook it at work. The quick cooking kind takes less than 1 minute in the microwave when I use the hot water dispenser on the coffee machine. Possible mix ins I have tried:

  • Raisins
  • Brown Sugar
  • Frozen blueberries, thawed
  • leftover cranberry sauce (Yum!)

I plan on trying other fruit like peaches, apples and maybe even pumpkin soon.

Other toppings can be found on the Quaker Oatmeal site.

One Response to “Oatmeal”

  1. Healthy Eating on a Budget - top 10 staples « Cutting Back Says:

    […] Oatmeal – As I have said before, I eat oatmeal nearly every weekday morning.  Not only does it keep me full most of the morning I […]

Leave a Reply

